The catalogue includes the artist statement of Lai's whole new creative subject in this exhibition " The Lonely Bubble in the Universe—Pale Blue Dot ".

The Lonely Bubble in the Universe—Pale Blue Dot

Lai Chiu-Chen

 
-Soap Film
 
We all move on the fringes of eternity and are sometimes granted vistas through fabric of illusion. —Ansel Adams (1902-1984)
 
Every bubble that refracts light into splendid colors is formed by a thin film sustained by surface tension. The thin layer of soap film, approximately 0.0000007 m in thickness, reflects all the things that float by; randomly, and unintentionally, the bubble reflects everything around. Sometimes, two or three neighboring bubbles, from point to line, are separated at a perfect 120-degree angle. Then, they converge into a new bubble. At a certain moment, viewer, work, and creator will sometimes converge and fuse into a complete bubble at the same angle—this is an ideal surrealist state. As water vapor evaporates, soon, all those things reflected on the surface will shatter and disappear. New bubbles, however, will continue to reflect all things around, as if nothing had ever happened.
 
As usual, I rely on my eyes to create works; I rely on those thin retinas at the bottom of my eyes to store all the reversed images. All images are like the reflected images of soap film, extracted within an instant; however, most of the data and images I chose before have evaporated and been sealed away from my brain, taking shape and breaking up like bubbles.
 
 
-Stream of Consciousness 
 
Bubbles would rise through the cider, in such multitudes that others were left hanging on the side of the glass, whence one could have scooped them up with a spoon, as a net lowered into the swarming vitality of tropical seas brings up thousands of ova.1
 
Through sophisticated observation and imagination, Marcel Proust (1871 – 1922) associates short-living bubbles with fish ova that symbolize the continuation of life. The two temporal concepts are contradictory, yet seem so perfectly comparable. All the bubbles inside the glass that rise following own routes emerge out towards the surface of water; although they quickly burst and disappear, they seem to work hard to put emphasis on their own existence. It reminds me of myself, when I face empty canvases,  I look through the various online images I have stored and added over the years, as well as all kinds of ideas that pop up in my head, like bubbles that take form one after another and then quickly disappear. Like a novel of stream of consciousness, which follows the smoke of the cigarette held in the hand of Swann that rises slowly and spreads around with airflow, scenes, time and space, and characters, events, and objects alternate and blink, and light, scent, temperature and humidity will also change accordingly. Like hair, nerves, or cables, all kinds of intricate ideas are intertwined, triggering the things I previously saw or thought about, and connecting to the running USB port to expand storage, without me noticing.
 
Finally, those tiny bubbles that fail to escape are scooped up by the spoon, becoming another form of life and nutrient; they find a small blank spot on the canvas where they can settle down in peace, allowing dreams and fantasies to become reality.
 

-Space
 
The most obvious difference between the featured works of this exhibition and my past works is that spaces in the paintings are divided and emphasized. Familiar anime characters weave through the structure that resembles interwoven window frames; partial natural images are added, which I rarely depicted before, to form visual vocabularies different from my past works; or, like old picture frames that have oval cut-outs, they display fragments of what I have seen or remember; these fragments search for and fuse with the lost halves among the images accumulated continuously online, to generate new meanings. Space dictates the direction of the works; toys that have been the main subject for years have ceded their position, and withdrawn into the background to play second fiddle to space.
 
In today’s world where online search engines are becoming more and more powerful, the images we encounter constantly reproduce and duplicate like organic matters; they fuse and mix with one another, and cannot be differentiated. Nonetheless, through constant selection and elimination, some artists’ compositions, or meticulously assembled marble floors in churches, are still being appropriated by me for the structures of my paintings. This way, I can seamlessly fuse past eras and styles into modern works to carry out a conversion of time and meaning. For example, the geometric spaces of Luiz Sacilotto (1924 – 2003), upon being given new visual imageries, have made the origami animals in “Mr. and Ms. Animals Who Live in the Congregate Housing” seem to be whispering in a room that is twisted, magical, and appears lonely. This kind of spaces always reminds me of the windows of Notre Dame du Haut—the windows of various sizes opened on the thick and sturdy walls, through which colorful light penetrates into the church to create the rich religious atmosphere. They also remind me of the irregular frames and cabinets of Rene Magritte (1898 – 1967). I replace his surreal objects and uninterpretable meanings, allowing the works to return to the reality I recreated. Like containers, these objects I have intentionally or unintentionally discovered are recycled, decomposed, removed, and reset, to become new meanings and existences.
 
 
-Pale Blue Dot
 
Pale Blue Dot is a famous picture of planet Earth taken by Voyager 1 in 1990. In the picture, Earth, only 0.12 pixel in size, floats in solitude in the dark and soundless solar system. This picture reminds us of our situation: it is like a bubble, tiny, fragile, pale, yet colorful; however, it carries our emotions and obsessions, self-righteousness, misconceptions, and everything known, thought about, or unknown by us through endless time.
 
Every life is in many days, day after day. We walk through ourselves, meeting robbers, ghosts, giants, old men, young men, wives, widows, brothers-in-love, but always meeting ourselves.2
 
It is always difficult to face oneself. Day in and day out, we are always with ourselves, but have we met our real selves? Every person is the producer and receiver of bubbles. Ourselves from every time seem to be floating in bubbles, emerging and disappearing, and I am like the president of Bubble Kabushiki Kaisha, absorbing all the things reflected on the soap films on one hand, while also screening, creating, and refining all the things to be reflected onto the soap films of viewers. As a creator, if we truly regard the external world to be like dew drops, bubbles, dreams, lightning, and clouds, then what exactly is it that we see? What have I created? In the modern world where self-consciousness and value have been infinitely inflated and maximized, our selves are, after all, just whispering in a hardly audible voice in a bubble, a tiny grain of dust, and a blurry light spot a mere 0.12 pixel in size.




1.Proust, Marcel. Translated by Wang, Tao-Chien. Countre Sainte-Beuve. Shanghai: Shanghai Translation Publishing House, 2007.6, p.20.
2.Joyce, James. Translated by Hsiao, Chien and Wen, Chieh-Juo. Ulysses (Vol. 1). Taipei: Owl Publishing House, 1999.11, p. 444.

Lai Chiu-Chen
Lai Chiu-Chen
2018.10
NT$ 800
26 x 26 cm|60 pages

本書收錄賴九岑此次展覽全新創作主題的自我論述「宇宙中的孤獨泡泡—Pale Blue Dot」。

宇宙中的孤獨泡泡—Pale Blue Dot

賴九岑 

 
-皂膜
 
我們都徘徊在永恆的邊緣,有時會通過交錯的幻覺來獲得風景。—安塞爾·亞當斯(Ansel Adams, 1902-1984)
 
每個隨著光線折射而呈現出五彩斑斕的泡泡,表面張力撐起了一個個極薄的膜,在約0.0000007米的那層皂膜,映射著所飄忽經過的一切,悠悠忽忽、無心地將周遭一切反照其上。有時兩三個相鄰的泡泡,從點到線,會以完美的120°的角度分隔交匯,之後再合成一個個新的泡泡。在某個瞬間,觀者、作品與創作者有時也會以同樣的角度,聚融為一個完整的泡泡,這是一種理想中的超現實狀態。隨著水氣蒸散,很快地,先前表面映照的一切亦隨之破裂消失。而新的泡泡,仍繼續映著所行的一切,彷彿未曾發生。
 
一如以往,我仍是靠著眼睛創作,依賴眼底那層薄薄的視網膜將倒置的影像一一存入,一切圖像都是如皂膜所映之像,在轉瞬間擷取而來,只是絕大多數當初選擇的資料圖像都蒸發塵封於腦外,如泡泡般滅滅生生。
 
 
-意識流

蘋果酒冒出許多小氣泡,氣泡多極了,懸附在玻璃杯內壁上,用小調羹可以舀起來,就像東海大量繁殖的生命,一網就可以打起無數魚卵一樣。1
 
普魯斯特(Marcel Proust‚ 1871-1922)細膩的觀察與想像,把生滅短暫的氣泡與生命相續的魚卵聯想在一起,兩種時間概念既矛盾又無違和地等而觀之。杯子裡各自循著自己的路徑緩緩上升的氣泡,一個個朝著水面湧出,即使轉瞬即逝卻似乎仍努力地強調著自己的存在。我想到自己在面對一張張空白畫布時,翻找著網路上多年存取與新增的種種圖像,以及腦中浮現的各種意念,如同一個個氣泡不斷冒出又旋即散滅,就像是意識流的小說,循著斯萬(Swann)手中香菸那隨氣流緩升四散的細煙飄忽纏繞,場景、時空、人事物斷續切換閃動,光線、氣味、溫濕度亦隨之而變。種種念頭細繁如髮絲,或神經線和網路線交纏,牽引著我曾所見所思,在不覺中連接至正在運行的那個USB埠擴充儲存。
 
最終,幾個沒來得及逃掉的氣泡終於被小調羹舀起,成了另一種形式的生命與養分,在畫布上找到一小片可安居的空白,讓夢與幻想變為真實。
 
 
-空間
 
此次展出的作品與以往較為明顯的差別就是畫面空間被切分強調出來。在交錯如窗櫺的結構,熟悉的動畫人物穿透其中,間以過往較少描繪的自然圖樣,形成與之前作品相異的視覺語彙。或如老相框,於其中切割出的橢圓裡,置放著片段的所見所憶,從一直不斷在網路積累的圖像中,覓尋彼此失落的另一半進而交融發酵產生出新的意義。空間主導著作品的走向,而多年來做為對象物的玩具則主次交換,退居為其自身成為空間裡的配角。
 
在網路搜尋引擎越來越強大的現今,其中所遇的圖像就像有機物般不斷增殖複製,混雜交融難分彼此。即使如此,在不斷淘選中,一些藝術家的作品構圖或教堂內精心拼組的大理石地板仍被我挪用成為畫面的結構。藉此,可以把過去的時代或風格不著痕跡地融入現在的作品做一種時間與意義上的轉換。例如路易斯·薩希羅托(Luiz Sacilotto, 1924-2003)的幾何空間,在賦予新的視覺意象後,讓《住在集合住宅的動物先生小姐》中的紙摺動物,彷彿身在曲扭變幻卻又顯得孤獨的房間中低語。這樣的空間總是會讓我想到廊香教堂(Notre Dame du Haut)的窗戶,厚實牆上開出大小不一的窗,多彩的光漫射入內浸透著滿滿的宗教氛圍。還有瑪格利特(Rene Magritte‚ 1898-1967)的不規則的畫框與櫃子,我將他帶著超現實的物件以及拗口難解的寓意重新置換,讓作品回到我所再製的現實。這些有意無意尋到之物如同一個個容器,被回收、分解、移除、重置之後,成為新的意義與存在。
 
 
-Pale Blue Dot
 
Pale Blue Dot《暗淡藍點》是一張1990年由航海家一號(Voyager 1)所拍攝的著名地球照片之一,在其中僅有0.12像素的地球在闃寂黯黑的太陽系中孤獨地漂浮著。這張照片提醒了我們的處境,她如同一個泡泡,微小、脆弱、蒼白又斑斕,卻在無盡的時間裡乘載了我們的情感、執著、自以為是、錯覺、以及所知所思或未知的一切。
 
每一個人的一生都是許多時日。一天接一天。我們從自我內部穿行,遇見強盜,鬼魂,巨人,老者,小伙子,妻子,遺孀,戀愛中的弟兄們,然而,我們遇見的總是我們自己。2
 
面對自己總是一件困難的事,我們雖然跟自己形影不離日復一日,但何嘗遇上過真實的自己,每個人都是泡泡的製造者與接收者,每個時間的自己都像是浮在泡泡裡滅滅生生。而我就像是「泡泡株式会社」Bubble Kabushiki Kaisha的社長一樣,一方面攝取所有映在皂膜的種種,經過挑揀、創造、去蕪存菁之後,再將其反照在觀者的皂膜之上。身為一個創作者,若我們真視外界一切都如露泡夢電雲,那什麼才是我們所見?我又創作出什麼呢?在自我意識與價值被無限膨脹至極大化的現今,自我終究也只是在一個泡泡、一個微塵、一個僅僅0.12像素的模糊光點中,用著微細幾乎不得聞的音聲低喃如此而已。



1.普魯斯特著,王道乾譯,《駁聖伯夫》上海:上海譯文出版社,2007.6,p.20
2.詹姆斯.喬伊斯著,蕭乾、文潔若譯,《尤里西斯(上)》,台北市:貓頭鷹出版社,1999.11,p.444

賴九岑
賴九岑
NT$ 800
2018.10
26x26cm│ 36頁