1 /
A Travelling Life — Yun Gee and Li-Lan’s Paintings
Date:2008|11.05 - 12.16
Reception:2008|11.05 3:30pm
Location:Lin & Keng Gallery‧Beijing
Yun Gee and Li-Lan as father and daughter have offered perspectives from two very different cultural and historical contexts to study transnationalism. Yun Gee is unusual in the generation he is in, not only because he chooses to stay overseas, but also because his desire to learn and his willingness to understand and accept diversified cultures and then assimilates into his paintings. He uses innovative methods, absorbing knowledge of cubism and Parisian schools after WWI, to create many important works. Those works should have acclaimed a position in the study of modernism. As for Li-Lan, she is brought up overseas, and a descendant of mixed races, with Yun Gee as a father claimed to be a world citizen. Li-Lan thus is fully prepared to explore her historical moment in the globalized world way before the time of a transnational life style.
 
These two artists have all attempted to cross over the national boundaries and limitations to create freely and open up their minds to different cultural influences and interactions. This is not the result abiding by the fashion of the art circles, but is that inseparable to their life experiences. All of these will be expressed within their paintings.
 
(Excerpted from the prelude of A Travelling Life —Yun Gee and Li-Lan’s Paintings, Joyce Poderski)

A Travelling Life — Yun Gee and Li-Lan’s Paintings
Date:2008|11.05 - 12.16
Reception:2008|11.05 3:30pm
Location:Lin & Keng Gallery‧Beijing
Yun Gee and Li-Lan as father and daughter have offered perspectives from two very different cultural and historical contexts to study transnationalism. Yun Gee is unusual in the generation he is in, not only because he chooses to stay overseas, but also because his desire to learn and his willingness to understand and accept diversified cultures and then assimilates into his paintings. He uses innovative methods, absorbing knowledge of cubism and Parisian schools after WWI, to create many important works. Those works should have acclaimed a position in the study of modernism. As for Li-Lan, she is brought up overseas, and a descendant of mixed races, with Yun Gee as a father claimed to be a world citizen. Li-Lan thus is fully prepared to explore her historical moment in the globalized world way before the time of a transnational life style.
 
These two artists have all attempted to cross over the national boundaries and limitations to create freely and open up their minds to different cultural influences and interactions. This is not the result abiding by the fashion of the art circles, but is that inseparable to their life experiences. All of these will be expressed within their paintings.
 
(Excerpted from the prelude of A Travelling Life —Yun Gee and Li-Lan’s Paintings, Joyce Poderski)

A Travelling Life — Yun Gee and Li-Lan’s Paintings
Date:2008|11.05 - 12.16
Reception:2008|11.05 3:30pm
Location:Lin & Keng Gallery‧Beijing
Yun Gee and Li-Lan as father and daughter have offered perspectives from two very different cultural and historical contexts to study transnationalism. Yun Gee is unusual in the generation he is in, not only because he chooses to stay overseas, but also because his desire to learn and his willingness to understand and accept diversified cultures and then assimilates into his paintings. He uses innovative methods, absorbing knowledge of cubism and Parisian schools after WWI, to create many important works. Those works should have acclaimed a position in the study of modernism. As for Li-Lan, she is brought up overseas, and a descendant of mixed races, with Yun Gee as a father claimed to be a world citizen. Li-Lan thus is fully prepared to explore her historical moment in the globalized world way before the time of a transnational life style.
 
These two artists have all attempted to cross over the national boundaries and limitations to create freely and open up their minds to different cultural influences and interactions. This is not the result abiding by the fashion of the art circles, but is that inseparable to their life experiences. All of these will be expressed within their paintings.
 
(Excerpted from the prelude of A Travelling Life —Yun Gee and Li-Lan’s Paintings, Joyce Poderski)

A Travelling Life — Yun Gee and Li-Lan’s Paintings
Date:2008|11.05 - 12.16
Reception:2008|11.05 3:30pm
Location:Lin & Keng Gallery‧Beijing
Yun Gee and Li-Lan as father and daughter have offered perspectives from two very different cultural and historical contexts to study transnationalism. Yun Gee is unusual in the generation he is in, not only because he chooses to stay overseas, but also because his desire to learn and his willingness to understand and accept diversified cultures and then assimilates into his paintings. He uses innovative methods, absorbing knowledge of cubism and Parisian schools after WWI, to create many important works. Those works should have acclaimed a position in the study of modernism. As for Li-Lan, she is brought up overseas, and a descendant of mixed races, with Yun Gee as a father claimed to be a world citizen. Li-Lan thus is fully prepared to explore her historical moment in the globalized world way before the time of a transnational life style.
 
These two artists have all attempted to cross over the national boundaries and limitations to create freely and open up their minds to different cultural influences and interactions. This is not the result abiding by the fashion of the art circles, but is that inseparable to their life experiences. All of these will be expressed within their paintings.
 
(Excerpted from the prelude of A Travelling Life —Yun Gee and Li-Lan’s Paintings, Joyce Poderski)

1
1
1
1

行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫
日期:2008|11.05 - 12.16
酒會:2008|11.05 3:30pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊‧北京
「行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫」朱沅芷與朱禮銀這對父女,提供了從兩種非常不同的文化歷史情境之下,研究「跨國主義」這個議題的機會。朱沅芷,就他所處的時代而言,是不尋常的。不只是因為他選擇了居遊於海外,更因為他的求知欲,願意了解接納多國文化,繼而融入他的繪畫創作,他以創新的手法,吸收立體派和第一次世界大戰之後巴黎學派之種種知識,完成許多重要的作品。這些作品應該在現代主義歷史的研究中獲得定評。而朱禮銀,或許可以說她天生就居遊於國外,她生為兩種族的後代混血,有位自詡為世界公民的父親朱沅芷。那幾乎是早在尚未有所謂的跨國生活方式之前,她即有充分的準備,要在全球化的世界,探索屬於自己的歷史性片刻。
 
這兩位藝術家皆力求跳脫國家藩離之限制,自由地生活創作,敞開心胸接受不同文化薰陶,與之交流共鳴。這並不是順應藝術圈潮流之結果,卻是與他們本身的生命歷程密不可分,所有的一切都彰顯於他們的繪畫之中。

節錄自喬伊思‧波德斯基,《行旅生涯:朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫》序言
行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫
日期:2008|11.05 - 12.16
酒會:2008|11.05 3:30pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊‧北京
「行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫」朱沅芷與朱禮銀這對父女,提供了從兩種非常不同的文化歷史情境之下,研究「跨國主義」這個議題的機會。朱沅芷,就他所處的時代而言,是不尋常的。不只是因為他選擇了居遊於海外,更因為他的求知欲,願意了解接納多國文化,繼而融入他的繪畫創作,他以創新的手法,吸收立體派和第一次世界大戰之後巴黎學派之種種知識,完成許多重要的作品。這些作品應該在現代主義歷史的研究中獲得定評。而朱禮銀,或許可以說她天生就居遊於國外,她生為兩種族的後代混血,有位自詡為世界公民的父親朱沅芷。那幾乎是早在尚未有所謂的跨國生活方式之前,她即有充分的準備,要在全球化的世界,探索屬於自己的歷史性片刻。
 
這兩位藝術家皆力求跳脫國家藩離之限制,自由地生活創作,敞開心胸接受不同文化薰陶,與之交流共鳴。這並不是順應藝術圈潮流之結果,卻是與他們本身的生命歷程密不可分,所有的一切都彰顯於他們的繪畫之中。

節錄自喬伊思‧波德斯基,《行旅生涯:朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫》序言
行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫
日期:2008|11.05 - 12.16
酒會:2008|11.05 3:30pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊‧北京
「行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫」朱沅芷與朱禮銀這對父女,提供了從兩種非常不同的文化歷史情境之下,研究「跨國主義」這個議題的機會。朱沅芷,就他所處的時代而言,是不尋常的。不只是因為他選擇了居遊於海外,更因為他的求知欲,願意了解接納多國文化,繼而融入他的繪畫創作,他以創新的手法,吸收立體派和第一次世界大戰之後巴黎學派之種種知識,完成許多重要的作品。這些作品應該在現代主義歷史的研究中獲得定評。而朱禮銀,或許可以說她天生就居遊於國外,她生為兩種族的後代混血,有位自詡為世界公民的父親朱沅芷。那幾乎是早在尚未有所謂的跨國生活方式之前,她即有充分的準備,要在全球化的世界,探索屬於自己的歷史性片刻。
 
這兩位藝術家皆力求跳脫國家藩離之限制,自由地生活創作,敞開心胸接受不同文化薰陶,與之交流共鳴。這並不是順應藝術圈潮流之結果,卻是與他們本身的生命歷程密不可分,所有的一切都彰顯於他們的繪畫之中。

節錄自喬伊思‧波德斯基,《行旅生涯:朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫》序言
行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫
日期:2008|11.05 - 12.16
酒會:2008|11.05 3:30pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊‧北京
「行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫」朱沅芷與朱禮銀這對父女,提供了從兩種非常不同的文化歷史情境之下,研究「跨國主義」這個議題的機會。朱沅芷,就他所處的時代而言,是不尋常的。不只是因為他選擇了居遊於海外,更因為他的求知欲,願意了解接納多國文化,繼而融入他的繪畫創作,他以創新的手法,吸收立體派和第一次世界大戰之後巴黎學派之種種知識,完成許多重要的作品。這些作品應該在現代主義歷史的研究中獲得定評。而朱禮銀,或許可以說她天生就居遊於國外,她生為兩種族的後代混血,有位自詡為世界公民的父親朱沅芷。那幾乎是早在尚未有所謂的跨國生活方式之前,她即有充分的準備,要在全球化的世界,探索屬於自己的歷史性片刻。
 
這兩位藝術家皆力求跳脫國家藩離之限制,自由地生活創作,敞開心胸接受不同文化薰陶,與之交流共鳴。這並不是順應藝術圈潮流之結果,卻是與他們本身的生命歷程密不可分,所有的一切都彰顯於他們的繪畫之中。

節錄自喬伊思‧波德斯基,《行旅生涯:朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫》序言
行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫
日期:2008|11.05 - 12.16
酒會:2008|11.05 3:30pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊‧北京
「行旅生涯 - 朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫」朱沅芷與朱禮銀這對父女,提供了從兩種非常不同的文化歷史情境之下,研究「跨國主義」這個議題的機會。朱沅芷,就他所處的時代而言,是不尋常的。不只是因為他選擇了居遊於海外,更因為他的求知欲,願意了解接納多國文化,繼而融入他的繪畫創作,他以創新的手法,吸收立體派和第一次世界大戰之後巴黎學派之種種知識,完成許多重要的作品。這些作品應該在現代主義歷史的研究中獲得定評。而朱禮銀,或許可以說她天生就居遊於國外,她生為兩種族的後代混血,有位自詡為世界公民的父親朱沅芷。那幾乎是早在尚未有所謂的跨國生活方式之前,她即有充分的準備,要在全球化的世界,探索屬於自己的歷史性片刻。
 
這兩位藝術家皆力求跳脫國家藩離之限制,自由地生活創作,敞開心胸接受不同文化薰陶,與之交流共鳴。這並不是順應藝術圈潮流之結果,卻是與他們本身的生命歷程密不可分,所有的一切都彰顯於他們的繪畫之中。

節錄自喬伊思‧波德斯基,《行旅生涯:朱沅芷與朱禮銀之繪畫》序言
1
1
1
1