1 /
A City of Others
Date:2012|10.06-10.28
Reception:2012.10.06 4pm
Location:Lin & Lin Gallery, Taipei
Lin & Lin Gallery will present in October a group exhibition ‘A City of Others’, which consists of five young Chinese artists as an expression of the history and future vision of Chinese contemporary art. Since the Reform and Open-Door Policy in 1979, China has been distinguished as the country with the most rapid growth in economy. Challenges and import of western thinking along with the transformation of social structure have all become iconic features of cities in China. Liu Wentao, Su Bo, Shi Zhiying, Gao Lei and Xie Fan are artist that were born and bred in this era of change and reform. With their heritage thinking combined with large amounts of imported western thought, each has created different representations and reflections through their works.
 
Liu Wentao (b.1973) uses the extension and variation of shaped canvases and challenges visual imagination and spatial perception through the low chroma of pencil sketches. Su Bo (b.1978) received education in Germany and conveys strong personal character and humor through his works. He transforms everyday experiences into recreated sceneries of modern society. Black and white oil paintings of tranquil landscapes have become icons of Shi Zhiying (b.1979). Her works have been influenced by contemporary photography, modern dance and Chinese traditional paintings. Gao Lei (b.1980) combines installation art, painting and video to produce pithy images of reflection towards society. The oil paintings of Xie Fan (b.1983) are composed on silk and express rich Chinese characteristics and create visual senses that transcend two-dimensional paintings through the combination of light, paint, silk and frame. The works of these five artists are composed through different techniques and media but all express the same meditation towards contemporary western civilization.
 
For the youth of contemporary China, there exist infinite cities that are unfamiliar and sceneries that are un-sensed. Western cities are cities of others, yet the ever-changing Chinese society makes the youth themselves the other, sometimes even the outsider. The only thing significant is the need to find one’s own foundation to construct a ‘city of self’; only then can everything else be possible.
 
A City of Others
Date:2012|10.06-10.28
Reception:2012.10.06 4pm
Location:Lin & Lin Gallery, Taipei
Lin & Lin Gallery will present in October a group exhibition ‘A City of Others’, which consists of five young Chinese artists as an expression of the history and future vision of Chinese contemporary art. Since the Reform and Open-Door Policy in 1979, China has been distinguished as the country with the most rapid growth in economy. Challenges and import of western thinking along with the transformation of social structure have all become iconic features of cities in China. Liu Wentao, Su Bo, Shi Zhiying, Gao Lei and Xie Fan are artist that were born and bred in this era of change and reform. With their heritage thinking combined with large amounts of imported western thought, each has created different representations and reflections through their works.
 
Liu Wentao (b.1973) uses the extension and variation of shaped canvases and challenges visual imagination and spatial perception through the low chroma of pencil sketches. Su Bo (b.1978) received education in Germany and conveys strong personal character and humor through his works. He transforms everyday experiences into recreated sceneries of modern society. Black and white oil paintings of tranquil landscapes have become icons of Shi Zhiying (b.1979). Her works have been influenced by contemporary photography, modern dance and Chinese traditional paintings. Gao Lei (b.1980) combines installation art, painting and video to produce pithy images of reflection towards society. The oil paintings of Xie Fan (b.1983) are composed on silk and express rich Chinese characteristics and create visual senses that transcend two-dimensional paintings through the combination of light, paint, silk and frame. The works of these five artists are composed through different techniques and media but all express the same meditation towards contemporary western civilization.
 
For the youth of contemporary China, there exist infinite cities that are unfamiliar and sceneries that are un-sensed. Western cities are cities of others, yet the ever-changing Chinese society makes the youth themselves the other, sometimes even the outsider. The only thing significant is the need to find one’s own foundation to construct a ‘city of self’; only then can everything else be possible.
 
A City of Others
Date:2012|10.06-10.28
Reception:2012.10.06 4pm
Location:Lin & Lin Gallery, Taipei
Lin & Lin Gallery will present in October a group exhibition ‘A City of Others’, which consists of five young Chinese artists as an expression of the history and future vision of Chinese contemporary art. Since the Reform and Open-Door Policy in 1979, China has been distinguished as the country with the most rapid growth in economy. Challenges and import of western thinking along with the transformation of social structure have all become iconic features of cities in China. Liu Wentao, Su Bo, Shi Zhiying, Gao Lei and Xie Fan are artist that were born and bred in this era of change and reform. With their heritage thinking combined with large amounts of imported western thought, each has created different representations and reflections through their works.
 
Liu Wentao (b.1973) uses the extension and variation of shaped canvases and challenges visual imagination and spatial perception through the low chroma of pencil sketches. Su Bo (b.1978) received education in Germany and conveys strong personal character and humor through his works. He transforms everyday experiences into recreated sceneries of modern society. Black and white oil paintings of tranquil landscapes have become icons of Shi Zhiying (b.1979). Her works have been influenced by contemporary photography, modern dance and Chinese traditional paintings. Gao Lei (b.1980) combines installation art, painting and video to produce pithy images of reflection towards society. The oil paintings of Xie Fan (b.1983) are composed on silk and express rich Chinese characteristics and create visual senses that transcend two-dimensional paintings through the combination of light, paint, silk and frame. The works of these five artists are composed through different techniques and media but all express the same meditation towards contemporary western civilization.
 
For the youth of contemporary China, there exist infinite cities that are unfamiliar and sceneries that are un-sensed. Western cities are cities of others, yet the ever-changing Chinese society makes the youth themselves the other, sometimes even the outsider. The only thing significant is the need to find one’s own foundation to construct a ‘city of self’; only then can everything else be possible.
 
A City of Others
Date:2012|10.06-10.28
Reception:2012.10.06 4pm
Location:Lin & Lin Gallery, Taipei
Lin & Lin Gallery will present in October a group exhibition ‘A City of Others’, which consists of five young Chinese artists as an expression of the history and future vision of Chinese contemporary art. Since the Reform and Open-Door Policy in 1979, China has been distinguished as the country with the most rapid growth in economy. Challenges and import of western thinking along with the transformation of social structure have all become iconic features of cities in China. Liu Wentao, Su Bo, Shi Zhiying, Gao Lei and Xie Fan are artist that were born and bred in this era of change and reform. With their heritage thinking combined with large amounts of imported western thought, each has created different representations and reflections through their works.
 
Liu Wentao (b.1973) uses the extension and variation of shaped canvases and challenges visual imagination and spatial perception through the low chroma of pencil sketches. Su Bo (b.1978) received education in Germany and conveys strong personal character and humor through his works. He transforms everyday experiences into recreated sceneries of modern society. Black and white oil paintings of tranquil landscapes have become icons of Shi Zhiying (b.1979). Her works have been influenced by contemporary photography, modern dance and Chinese traditional paintings. Gao Lei (b.1980) combines installation art, painting and video to produce pithy images of reflection towards society. The oil paintings of Xie Fan (b.1983) are composed on silk and express rich Chinese characteristics and create visual senses that transcend two-dimensional paintings through the combination of light, paint, silk and frame. The works of these five artists are composed through different techniques and media but all express the same meditation towards contemporary western civilization.
 
For the youth of contemporary China, there exist infinite cities that are unfamiliar and sceneries that are un-sensed. Western cities are cities of others, yet the ever-changing Chinese society makes the youth themselves the other, sometimes even the outsider. The only thing significant is the need to find one’s own foundation to construct a ‘city of self’; only then can everything else be possible.
 
A City of Others
Date:2012|10.06-10.28
Reception:2012.10.06 4pm
Location:Lin & Lin Gallery, Taipei
Lin & Lin Gallery will present in October a group exhibition ‘A City of Others’, which consists of five young Chinese artists as an expression of the history and future vision of Chinese contemporary art. Since the Reform and Open-Door Policy in 1979, China has been distinguished as the country with the most rapid growth in economy. Challenges and import of western thinking along with the transformation of social structure have all become iconic features of cities in China. Liu Wentao, Su Bo, Shi Zhiying, Gao Lei and Xie Fan are artist that were born and bred in this era of change and reform. With their heritage thinking combined with large amounts of imported western thought, each has created different representations and reflections through their works.
 
Liu Wentao (b.1973) uses the extension and variation of shaped canvases and challenges visual imagination and spatial perception through the low chroma of pencil sketches. Su Bo (b.1978) received education in Germany and conveys strong personal character and humor through his works. He transforms everyday experiences into recreated sceneries of modern society. Black and white oil paintings of tranquil landscapes have become icons of Shi Zhiying (b.1979). Her works have been influenced by contemporary photography, modern dance and Chinese traditional paintings. Gao Lei (b.1980) combines installation art, painting and video to produce pithy images of reflection towards society. The oil paintings of Xie Fan (b.1983) are composed on silk and express rich Chinese characteristics and create visual senses that transcend two-dimensional paintings through the combination of light, paint, silk and frame. The works of these five artists are composed through different techniques and media but all express the same meditation towards contemporary western civilization.
 
For the youth of contemporary China, there exist infinite cities that are unfamiliar and sceneries that are un-sensed. Western cities are cities of others, yet the ever-changing Chinese society makes the youth themselves the other, sometimes even the outsider. The only thing significant is the need to find one’s own foundation to construct a ‘city of self’; only then can everything else be possible.
 
1
1
1
1
1

他城記
日期:2012|10.06-10.28
酒會:2012|10.06 4pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊.臺北
參展藝術家:劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊、謝帆

大未來林舍畫廊將於十月推出中國青年五人展-「他城記」,作為一份關於中國當代藝術的遠矚與紀錄。1979年後進入改革開放時代的中國,成為國際間經濟發展最快的發展中國家之一。而西方大量流入的文化思動與價值挑戰,以及社會內部急遽且多元的變化,則成為中國當代最顯著的城市風景。成長在此一時期的藝術家-劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊與謝帆,在國家改革的變動環境中,他們承襲著自身固有的在地思考,面對西方襲來的大量資訊與價值思維,各自在其作品中產生變異與融合。
 
劉文濤(1973-) 近年以塑形畫布(shaped canvas)的延伸變異為創作核心,並以低色度表現的鉛表素描為媒介,企圖挑戰觀者的視覺想像與空間感知;自德國海歸的蘇波(1978-),其雕塑作品具有強烈的個人幽默與諧趣,將生活中的日常文化扭轉再現,反映著時代的現世風景;黑白顏色的油畫,已成石至瑩(1979-) 顯著的標誌性創作,作品深受當代攝影、現代舞與中國傳統繪畫影響,以黑白雙色描繪著空靈的實物風景;高磊(1980-)則跨度於裝置、繪畫與影像創作之間,其畫面近乎簡潔的繪畫作品,多線地豐富投射著藝術家個人對於當代高度的反動思考;謝帆(1983-)的油畫作品,構成於極具中國意趣的絹布之上,試圖以光線、油畫顏料、絹布與框的巧妙結合,構成一超越平面繪畫的視覺感知。在他們五人的作品創作之中,媒材技法大相逕庭,卻能共同地在其中發現他們同有對於西方當代的思考與反動,甚至,我們能夠讀見作品中根底源於中華本位的意韻與精神存在著。
 
他城眾眾,在城中之間流轉的中國的當代青年們,眼前總有看不盡的「他城」風景。複製或者傳遞,在城市與城市之間遷徙,西方是他城,日日生變的當下中國也是他城。然而,更明確的是,如何在各種他人敘事中找到「我城」之立基,如此,才有話語。

他城記
日期:2012|10.06-10.28
酒會:2012|10.06 4pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊.臺北
參展藝術家:劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊、謝帆

大未來林舍畫廊將於十月推出中國青年五人展-「他城記」,作為一份關於中國當代藝術的遠矚與紀錄。1979年後進入改革開放時代的中國,成為國際間經濟發展最快的發展中國家之一。而西方大量流入的文化思動與價值挑戰,以及社會內部急遽且多元的變化,則成為中國當代最顯著的城市風景。成長在此一時期的藝術家-劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊與謝帆,在國家改革的變動環境中,他們承襲著自身固有的在地思考,面對西方襲來的大量資訊與價值思維,各自在其作品中產生變異與融合。
 
劉文濤(1973-) 近年以塑形畫布(shaped canvas)的延伸變異為創作核心,並以低色度表現的鉛表素描為媒介,企圖挑戰觀者的視覺想像與空間感知;自德國海歸的蘇波(1978-),其雕塑作品具有強烈的個人幽默與諧趣,將生活中的日常文化扭轉再現,反映著時代的現世風景;黑白顏色的油畫,已成石至瑩(1979-) 顯著的標誌性創作,作品深受當代攝影、現代舞與中國傳統繪畫影響,以黑白雙色描繪著空靈的實物風景;高磊(1980-)則跨度於裝置、繪畫與影像創作之間,其畫面近乎簡潔的繪畫作品,多線地豐富投射著藝術家個人對於當代高度的反動思考;謝帆(1983-)的油畫作品,構成於極具中國意趣的絹布之上,試圖以光線、油畫顏料、絹布與框的巧妙結合,構成一超越平面繪畫的視覺感知。在他們五人的作品創作之中,媒材技法大相逕庭,卻能共同地在其中發現他們同有對於西方當代的思考與反動,甚至,我們能夠讀見作品中根底源於中華本位的意韻與精神存在著。
 
他城眾眾,在城中之間流轉的中國的當代青年們,眼前總有看不盡的「他城」風景。複製或者傳遞,在城市與城市之間遷徙,西方是他城,日日生變的當下中國也是他城。然而,更明確的是,如何在各種他人敘事中找到「我城」之立基,如此,才有話語。

他城記
日期:2012|10.06-10.28
酒會:2012|10.06 4pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊.臺北
參展藝術家:劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊、謝帆

大未來林舍畫廊將於十月推出中國青年五人展-「他城記」,作為一份關於中國當代藝術的遠矚與紀錄。1979年後進入改革開放時代的中國,成為國際間經濟發展最快的發展中國家之一。而西方大量流入的文化思動與價值挑戰,以及社會內部急遽且多元的變化,則成為中國當代最顯著的城市風景。成長在此一時期的藝術家-劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊與謝帆,在國家改革的變動環境中,他們承襲著自身固有的在地思考,面對西方襲來的大量資訊與價值思維,各自在其作品中產生變異與融合。
 
劉文濤(1973-) 近年以塑形畫布(shaped canvas)的延伸變異為創作核心,並以低色度表現的鉛表素描為媒介,企圖挑戰觀者的視覺想像與空間感知;自德國海歸的蘇波(1978-),其雕塑作品具有強烈的個人幽默與諧趣,將生活中的日常文化扭轉再現,反映著時代的現世風景;黑白顏色的油畫,已成石至瑩(1979-) 顯著的標誌性創作,作品深受當代攝影、現代舞與中國傳統繪畫影響,以黑白雙色描繪著空靈的實物風景;高磊(1980-)則跨度於裝置、繪畫與影像創作之間,其畫面近乎簡潔的繪畫作品,多線地豐富投射著藝術家個人對於當代高度的反動思考;謝帆(1983-)的油畫作品,構成於極具中國意趣的絹布之上,試圖以光線、油畫顏料、絹布與框的巧妙結合,構成一超越平面繪畫的視覺感知。在他們五人的作品創作之中,媒材技法大相逕庭,卻能共同地在其中發現他們同有對於西方當代的思考與反動,甚至,我們能夠讀見作品中根底源於中華本位的意韻與精神存在著。
 
他城眾眾,在城中之間流轉的中國的當代青年們,眼前總有看不盡的「他城」風景。複製或者傳遞,在城市與城市之間遷徙,西方是他城,日日生變的當下中國也是他城。然而,更明確的是,如何在各種他人敘事中找到「我城」之立基,如此,才有話語。

他城記
日期:2012|10.06-10.28
酒會:2012|10.06 4pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊.臺北
參展藝術家:劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊、謝帆

大未來林舍畫廊將於十月推出中國青年五人展-「他城記」,作為一份關於中國當代藝術的遠矚與紀錄。1979年後進入改革開放時代的中國,成為國際間經濟發展最快的發展中國家之一。而西方大量流入的文化思動與價值挑戰,以及社會內部急遽且多元的變化,則成為中國當代最顯著的城市風景。成長在此一時期的藝術家-劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊與謝帆,在國家改革的變動環境中,他們承襲著自身固有的在地思考,面對西方襲來的大量資訊與價值思維,各自在其作品中產生變異與融合。
 
劉文濤(1973-) 近年以塑形畫布(shaped canvas)的延伸變異為創作核心,並以低色度表現的鉛表素描為媒介,企圖挑戰觀者的視覺想像與空間感知;自德國海歸的蘇波(1978-),其雕塑作品具有強烈的個人幽默與諧趣,將生活中的日常文化扭轉再現,反映著時代的現世風景;黑白顏色的油畫,已成石至瑩(1979-) 顯著的標誌性創作,作品深受當代攝影、現代舞與中國傳統繪畫影響,以黑白雙色描繪著空靈的實物風景;高磊(1980-)則跨度於裝置、繪畫與影像創作之間,其畫面近乎簡潔的繪畫作品,多線地豐富投射著藝術家個人對於當代高度的反動思考;謝帆(1983-)的油畫作品,構成於極具中國意趣的絹布之上,試圖以光線、油畫顏料、絹布與框的巧妙結合,構成一超越平面繪畫的視覺感知。在他們五人的作品創作之中,媒材技法大相逕庭,卻能共同地在其中發現他們同有對於西方當代的思考與反動,甚至,我們能夠讀見作品中根底源於中華本位的意韻與精神存在著。
 
他城眾眾,在城中之間流轉的中國的當代青年們,眼前總有看不盡的「他城」風景。複製或者傳遞,在城市與城市之間遷徙,西方是他城,日日生變的當下中國也是他城。然而,更明確的是,如何在各種他人敘事中找到「我城」之立基,如此,才有話語。

他城記
日期:2012|10.06-10.28
酒會:2012|10.06 4pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊.臺北
參展藝術家:劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊、謝帆

大未來林舍畫廊將於十月推出中國青年五人展-「他城記」,作為一份關於中國當代藝術的遠矚與紀錄。1979年後進入改革開放時代的中國,成為國際間經濟發展最快的發展中國家之一。而西方大量流入的文化思動與價值挑戰,以及社會內部急遽且多元的變化,則成為中國當代最顯著的城市風景。成長在此一時期的藝術家-劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊與謝帆,在國家改革的變動環境中,他們承襲著自身固有的在地思考,面對西方襲來的大量資訊與價值思維,各自在其作品中產生變異與融合。
 
劉文濤(1973-) 近年以塑形畫布(shaped canvas)的延伸變異為創作核心,並以低色度表現的鉛表素描為媒介,企圖挑戰觀者的視覺想像與空間感知;自德國海歸的蘇波(1978-),其雕塑作品具有強烈的個人幽默與諧趣,將生活中的日常文化扭轉再現,反映著時代的現世風景;黑白顏色的油畫,已成石至瑩(1979-) 顯著的標誌性創作,作品深受當代攝影、現代舞與中國傳統繪畫影響,以黑白雙色描繪著空靈的實物風景;高磊(1980-)則跨度於裝置、繪畫與影像創作之間,其畫面近乎簡潔的繪畫作品,多線地豐富投射著藝術家個人對於當代高度的反動思考;謝帆(1983-)的油畫作品,構成於極具中國意趣的絹布之上,試圖以光線、油畫顏料、絹布與框的巧妙結合,構成一超越平面繪畫的視覺感知。在他們五人的作品創作之中,媒材技法大相逕庭,卻能共同地在其中發現他們同有對於西方當代的思考與反動,甚至,我們能夠讀見作品中根底源於中華本位的意韻與精神存在著。
 
他城眾眾,在城中之間流轉的中國的當代青年們,眼前總有看不盡的「他城」風景。複製或者傳遞,在城市與城市之間遷徙,西方是他城,日日生變的當下中國也是他城。然而,更明確的是,如何在各種他人敘事中找到「我城」之立基,如此,才有話語。

他城記
日期:2012|10.06-10.28
酒會:2012|10.06 4pm
地點:大未來林舍畫廊.臺北
參展藝術家:劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊、謝帆

大未來林舍畫廊將於十月推出中國青年五人展-「他城記」,作為一份關於中國當代藝術的遠矚與紀錄。1979年後進入改革開放時代的中國,成為國際間經濟發展最快的發展中國家之一。而西方大量流入的文化思動與價值挑戰,以及社會內部急遽且多元的變化,則成為中國當代最顯著的城市風景。成長在此一時期的藝術家-劉文濤、蘇波、石至瑩、高磊與謝帆,在國家改革的變動環境中,他們承襲著自身固有的在地思考,面對西方襲來的大量資訊與價值思維,各自在其作品中產生變異與融合。
 
劉文濤(1973-) 近年以塑形畫布(shaped canvas)的延伸變異為創作核心,並以低色度表現的鉛表素描為媒介,企圖挑戰觀者的視覺想像與空間感知;自德國海歸的蘇波(1978-),其雕塑作品具有強烈的個人幽默與諧趣,將生活中的日常文化扭轉再現,反映著時代的現世風景;黑白顏色的油畫,已成石至瑩(1979-) 顯著的標誌性創作,作品深受當代攝影、現代舞與中國傳統繪畫影響,以黑白雙色描繪著空靈的實物風景;高磊(1980-)則跨度於裝置、繪畫與影像創作之間,其畫面近乎簡潔的繪畫作品,多線地豐富投射著藝術家個人對於當代高度的反動思考;謝帆(1983-)的油畫作品,構成於極具中國意趣的絹布之上,試圖以光線、油畫顏料、絹布與框的巧妙結合,構成一超越平面繪畫的視覺感知。在他們五人的作品創作之中,媒材技法大相逕庭,卻能共同地在其中發現他們同有對於西方當代的思考與反動,甚至,我們能夠讀見作品中根底源於中華本位的意韻與精神存在著。
 
他城眾眾,在城中之間流轉的中國的當代青年們,眼前總有看不盡的「他城」風景。複製或者傳遞,在城市與城市之間遷徙,西方是他城,日日生變的當下中國也是他城。然而,更明確的是,如何在各種他人敘事中找到「我城」之立基,如此,才有話語。

1
1
1
1
1