Ouyang Chun  
1974-  
Beijing
Ouyang Chun was born in Beijing 1974 and graduated from the Department of Art Education of Xi`an Academy ofFine Artin 1994. He currently works and lives in Beijing. Ouyang Chun is invited from several international exhibitions and just finished the exhibition of Ouyang Chun—Painting the Kingat Belvederein Viennaand at me CollectorsRoominBerlin. He also had several exhibitions in other countries, such as Close Encounterat South Korea's Cheju National Gallery, Ouyang Chun Paintings 2007-2009at Galerie FrankSchlag & CieinGermany, Hand + ExperimentationatTokyo wonder siteinJapan. Ouyang Chun is regarded as one of the starts among the artists in the generation of “post-70s”.
 
He is the only successful Post-70s artist who was not graduatedfrom a prestigious art academy. Ouyang Chun is inspired by the contradictions and incongruities in Chinasociety today. He is fascinated by truth and the ridiculousness that accompanies it.
 
Ouyang Chun abandoned the middle schooland left his family to independently discover theworldin his own way. After he had been in the dreadful world at his early age, he has been attractive to art.  Through the oil painting, he found that art had become his mission and then attended to the art school. At the art school, he was driven by the self-guilty, the regret and the demand of confronting the complex and degenerative world, he started dedicating to art.
 
Art has become Ouyang Chun’ssalvation.His paintings bear thefolkloric beauty, and sometimes the artist is inspired by the parables of violence and greed or promoted by joy and sorrow at times.In his works, each painting is full of heavy interlaced oil paints, and the longest process of his creation is the wait for the creamy like paints on the surface to dry. The artist avoids from “style”, but the chaotic picture and the constant childish images have become his characteristic. However, he never sought for any meaningful aesthetic of tradition through his works.
 
The rise of Post-70s artists has beenestablished on a potential ofself-expressionof the artists, thus it has become the reason ofOuyang’s success.“Mostof time,I’m expressing myselfthrough painting, I am not just painting.” While artists of his generation discardedthe topicand began to experiment with personal psychology, Ouyanghas not abandonedthe idealisticnotion that art shouldbe instructive and services for a greater ethic.The power and message of his paintings can be felt and interpreted by anynon-specialist viewer. And in some sense,this makes himbecomea revolutionary hero ofthe classical sense. The amount ofpaintings coming out of Ouyang Chun’s studio couldattest his adaptation to the national growth.Those paintings are premeditatedfor months, even years and the artist has contemplated before creating those works, even though the artist produces his works quickly. When the young Chinese artists receive the criticism as they are catering for the international art market through their art performances, Ouyanghas kept striving for the new creation and idea in each painting.” My paintings have their own life, I am not like other artists who keep painting the same mark in each paintings. My works are alive with vitality.” Ouyangsaid.
 
Extract from Whales, Pirates and Good Intentions, by Lee Ambrozy
BIOGRAPHY | CV
WORKS
Angel
Classroom
A Passionate Car of Painting Coming to Home Town Every Night
毛片
傳奇
The World Wave
純潔

歐陽春 
1974-
北京‧中國
歐陽春於1974 年出生在北京,1994 年畢業於西安美術學院美術教育系,現於北京從事創作。多次應邀國際展覽,甫結束於奧地利國家美術館與德國柏林收藏家美術館的個展【王Ouyang Chun—Painting the King】,更曾於韓國濟州島舉辦個展【遭遇】;德國舉辦【歐陽春「2007─2009」作品展】;南韓首爾舉辦【捕鯨記】個展;參與日本東京群展【手+實驗】等,為時下媒體所關注眾多「70後」新星代表之一。
 
歐陽春的靈感主要來源於當代中國的自相矛盾和不和諧,他著迷於真相,以及有時伴隨其間的殘酷的滑稽。
 
他中學輟學,從家裡跑出來靠自己來認識這個社會。過早經歷了恐怖的世界後,讓他轉向藝術,透過油彩和畫布,發現繪畫才是他真正的使命,最終把自己塞進了藝術學校。在那裡,被負罪感、後悔和重新面對複雜的世界及其敗類的需要所驅使,他開始帶著無堅不摧的投入,長時間的作畫。
 
藝術是他的救贖。他的畫帶著民間傳說的美感,有時他畫關於暴力和貪婪的寓言,有時是喜悅和悲傷。每一張都厚厚的堆積著混雜的油彩。可能整個創作過程中最長的環節是等待厚厚的、糊霜狀的表面乾燥。歐陽避免「風格」,雖然混亂的畫面和看起來長期幼稚的構圖已經成為了他的標識,但他從未在自己的作品中尋求傳統意義上的美學。
 
70後藝術家的崛起,建立在自我表達的潛質上,這也同樣是迄今為止歐陽成功的緣由。「大多數時間我是在畫畫來表達我自己,不單單是畫畫。」當他同輩的藝術家拋棄政治題材轉而開始試驗個人心理學的時候,他依然沒有怎麼出離理想主義的觀念,認為藝術應該有教育意義,服務於更高的公共道德。他畫中的力量和資訊可以被任何非專家的觀眾所解讀。從某種意義上說,這一點使他成為了傳統意義上的革命英雄。僅僅是從歐陽春畫室裡出來的畫的數量,就足以見證他對於民族發展步伐的適應。儘管畫得很快,這並不是說它們沒有經過數月,甚至是數年的醞釀。而且當中國的年輕藝術家經常因為在藝術實踐中迎合國際市場而遭到的批評的時候,歐陽春力爭要在每一幅畫裡有新意:「我的畫有它們自己的生命,不像有些人總是一遍又一遍的畫同一個標誌。它們是活的。」
 
節錄自安靜《鯨魚、海盜和善意》
簡述 | 年表
作品
純潔
世界波
傳奇
毛片
狂熱的繪畫之車每晚回到家鄉
教室
天使